Your Health

What’s the Difference Between Gluten-Free & Wheat-Free?

healthy, gluten-free food

There can be some confusion between what makes a diet gluten-free and what makes it wheat-free. For example, did you know that some foods labelled as ‘wheat-free’ contain gluten?

 

Let’s take a look at what actually makes a diet either gluten-free or wheat-free.

 

What is a Wheat-Free Diet?

 

Wheat-free diets are often mistaken for gluten-free diets, but wheat-free means eliminating wheat from your diet rather than gluten.

 

field of wheat

 

The difference between gluten and wheat is that:

 

  • Gluten is a specific protein found in wheat, and it can also be found in grains such as barley and rye.
  • Wheat is the grain gluten is found in.

 

Some of the foods you should avoid on a wheat-free diet include:

 

  • Bread
  • Breakfast cereals
  • Bulgar wheat
  • Crackers
  • Crumpets
  • Durum wheat
  • Many types of bread
  • Pastry
  • Spelt flour
  • Unbleached flour
  • Wheat bran

 

Of course, there are wheat-free alternatives of some of these foods available, but it’s important to check the label before purchasing.

What Does Gluten-Free Mean?

 

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, spelt and barley grains. Some people are intolerant to gluten; Coeliac disease is a condition where the immune system attacks your own tissues when you consume gluten, meaning a gluten-free diet is necessary.

 

foods containing gluten

 

This means that anything containing wheat, rye, spelt or barley is off limits on a gluten-free diet, which includes many types of bread, pasta, cereal, cakes, pastries and beer.

What Can You Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet?

 

There are so many gluten-free alternatives out there nowadays, which means that a gluten-free diet doesn’t have to feel restrictive, and you can still get the nutrition you need to keep your body healthy.

 

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, we recommend stocking up on:

 

  • Avocado
  • Brown rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Chicken (avoid breaded chicken)
  • Edamame beans
  • Fresh fish
  • Legumes
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Olives
  • Olive oil
  • Quinoa
  • Red meat
  • Tofu

 

gluten-free quinoa salad

Gluten-Free Supplements

 

Help to keep your body healthy when you’re following a gluten-free or wheat-free diet with gluten-free supplements from Garden of Life.

Gluten-Free Protein Powder

 

Our Garden of Life Raw Organic All-in-One Shake is a great gluten-free, vegan-friendly plant-based protein powder made from whole food ingredients. Available in Vanilla and Chocolate flavours, it’s ideal for adding to protein shakes or smoothies.

 

 

Gluten-Free Multivitamins

 

Following a restricted diet can sometimes mean you’re not able to get all of the nutrients your body needs from your diet, but we have a range of gluten-free multivitamin supplements that can help you to make sure you’re getting essential nutrients.

 

Our Vitamin Code collection is made using whole food nutrients, alongside live bacteria and enzymes to support your individual health needs. The range even includes gluten-free supplements for kids.

 

 

Discover more about the best vitamins for children with Garden of Life.

 

Vitamins for Children: Everything You Need to Know

Your Health

Vitamins for Children: Everything You Need to Know

Explore why children need vitamins and discover the best vitamins for kids.

2020-03-09 16:07:17By Garden of Life



Garden of Life

Garden of Life

Writer and expert